If you’ve been following along, you’ve noticed that the food blogging from the beginning of the year has ceased. Just to update you on the diet situation, it hasn’t really changed all that much. I went to Nashville for a week in May, and all bets were off for the entire trip, but otherwise I’ve maintained a fairly vegan/vegetarian/occasionally meaty diet, much like I was recording for the first part of the year. It’s really become fairly easy, and I don’t think about it much anymore. Even when we go out to eat, my first instinct is to look at the vegetarian dishes (and the vegan ones, if they have them).

One thing this process has taught me is just how habitual eating is. We are fortunate to live in a country where we have a ton of choices when it comes to our meals, but what I’ve realized this year is that we still eat the same small list of things over and over again. I got many comments from friends about my repetitive breakfasts, but seriously, how many of you eat the same two or three breakfast variations all the time? How many times do you go to the same restaurants and order the same meal there every time you go? How many different meals to you honestly cook at home?

If you’re like me, you certainly try different things when you have a chance, but you also have a repertoire you go to on a regular basis, whether that’s for cooking or for eating out. And for me, the real trick of changing my eating habits was changing that repertoire. Now that I’ve done that, continuing this way is easy. We just don’t cook that other stuff anymore, and when we eat out, we eat at places where I can get something that matches my diet.

You’re probably thinking, “well, that sounds easy on paper, but it’s really much harder than that.” It’s really not. All of those foods you think you have to have, you really don’t have to have them. They are delicious, and they’re worth eating once in a while, but breaking the habit of eating them all the time is not as hard as you’d think. It was nowhere near as difficult as I feared it would be.

So, the diet is good.

