Pictures of the garden are below, but before I get to that, I wanted to share the even better news of the weekend. You may remember this post, where I discussed my blood pressure struggles. I’ve fought semi-high blood pressure for years now, and have resisted going to the doctor for it, partially out of denial, but mainly because I dreaded the idea of being on blood pressure medication for the rest of my life. My prior attempts to bring it down have all failed, and I knew that sooner or later, I would have to bite the bullet and start taking drugs. That is, until I started eating the way I’m eating now. I had seen a significant drop in that post I linked, but yesterday when I tested my blood pressure at one of those self-serve things at the grocery store, I was shocked.

My blood pressure was 117/80.

Folks, that is the first time I’ve seen a normal blood pressure reading that I can remember since I got married.* That was 2005. There is no doubt that this little plan is working.

Anyway, the garden! Here are some finished pictures for you. First, the boxes as they looked before we planted.

This is what a square foot garden is supposed to look like, if I do say so myself. This box turned out the best, the others are slightly less even in their divisions. Overall, we were happy with how they turned out.

A better view of all three

We made three boxes, here’s a better look. Next, here’s what they look like all planted.

Not bad! Here’s some close ups with a rundown of what’s in each box.

Okay, on the left we have some broccoli (and I don’t have high hopes for that one in the back), in the middle two rows we have red cabbage and a couple more broccoli, on the right we have three squares of various lettuces and some rosemary.

This box is easy. All strawberries. Mmm, strawberries. Celine really wanted to grow them, and the book suggests an entire box for them, since each plant only produces a few. We’ll see how they turn out, they’ve already got flowers on them.

Okay, here we have three different types of tomatoes in the back, three boxes of lemon cucumbers on the right, two basil plants in the middle, a jalapeno pepper and bell pepper plant in front of the basil, and in the front row, another rosemary, thyme and lavender. The flowers are marigolds, which as supposed to deter pests. Not sure that’s enough to make a difference, but at least they are pretty.

I mentioned building cages for two of these boxes, here’s a look with those in place.

No super pretty, but they get the job done of keeping out the pests (rabbits and deer mostly around here). I’m still perplexed on the back box, since many of those plants can’t be confined by such a small space. I may end up building a makeshift fence, at least for that box. But that’s a project for next weekend.

Finally, here’s a picture that Celine took of our beautiful yard in bloom. I’m really loving the Oregon spring so far, and we’re just getting started!

*Please note that I am not blaming my high blood pressure on my marriage! It’s just a good frame of reference. In fact, if I wasn’t married to Celine, I’m sure my blood pressure would be much higher by now.

Thursday

  • Breakfast: Granola bar and a banana
  • Lunch: Leftover beans and rice
  • Dinner: Vegan burrito from Taco Del Mar
  • Snacks: Maybe some chips at work? I don’t remember
  • Drinks: Coffee, water, whiskey and coke

Friday

  • Breakfast: Nothing. I accidentally skipped it, what can I say?
  • Lunch: Leftover beans and rice
  • Dinner: General Tso’s “chicken” at Marco Polo. When you put “chicken” in quotation marks, it means “not chicken.” I think this was vegetarian, but not vegan (probably had butter in it).
  • Drinks: Coffee, water, beer

Saturday

  • Breakfast: Nothing again. We slept late.
  • Lunch: Vegan veggie burger and a salad
  • Dinner: Veggie pizza, with cheese
  • Snacks: Chocolate chip cookies
  • Drinks: Coffee, water, beer
