Tonight we got caught up on Jamie’s Food Revolution, the really amazing new show on ABC. We have been huge fans of Jamie for a very long time, and I can’t tell you how happy it makes me to see him in prime time on American television. His diet isn’t vegan, but it’s very healthy, and I appreciate what he’s trying to accomplish.

Having said that, the drama of reality TV is so exhausting, and the inclusion of a country music DJ in this show has made the contrivances even more apparent to me.

SPOILER ALERT: If you haven’t watched through this week’s episode and intend to, you should probably stop reading now.

Folks, we’ve been had on this radio storyline.

This DJ that hated Jamie was obviously a plant. In the grand tradition of the WCW and WWF (yeah, I still use the old acronym), this was a totally contrived story to create some drama, not just on TV, but also in the town of Huntington. That DJ was on Jamie’s side from the beginning, and there is absolutely no doubt of that. Here’s a short list of why:

  1. If you really want Jamie to lose the bet you’ve made with him, you don’t talk about him and the bet repeatedly on your radio show. Yes, I know he was deriding Jamie the entire time, but in this case, there’s no such thing as bad press, and there’s no way the DJ didn’t know that.
  2. If you really want Jamie to lose the bet you’ve made with him, you don’t agree to spend a day with him going to a mortuary (really?!?) and then to listen to testimonials from the people that support your rival.
  3. Finally, in what is the most obvious giveaway of the entire show to me, live radio events at remote locations don’t just “happen.” It’s never a surprise. The logistics involved take a little bit of planning, especially when your remote radio event is taking place at the same time as Good Morning America, a visit from the mayor, and a visit from the Governor. Trust me on this. THERE IS NO WAY HE JUST SHOWED UP THE NEXT MORNING. Not even remotely possible.

So, this “turn” from hater to supporter (or in wrestling terms, from heel to face) was absolutely orchestrated. Maybe they overplayed his hatred of Jamie on the show, but I kinda think that they pulled this turn on the people of Huntington as well. If you think about it, it really seems like a longer term strategy to really amp up the support for Jamie and the show. The only way you play along with something like this is if you’re a douchebag country music DJ that really wants to play a major part on a TV show.

After working in the music business for 10 years, here is what I know about country music DJ’s:

  1. They are all douchebags that would want to play a major part on a TV show.
  2. Without exception.
  3. Seriously.

This doesn’t take anything away from what Jamie is trying to accomplish, and I sincerely hope he succeeds in Huntington and across the country. It was just a harsh reminder of how unreal reality television can be. I am wondering if my jaded music biz attitude is informing my judgment (not that I think I’m wrong, I know I’m right. But maybe my experience is giving me some insight beyond the norm?). So if you’re watching this show and you’re not a music biz alumni like me, what did you think? Did you see through this charade, or did it seem pretty convincing? I saw this coming from the first show actually, but maybe I’m just one of those hurt music business drop-outs that always expects the worst. You tell me.

  • Breakfast: Oatmeal with dried cranberries, walnuts and brown sugar
  • Lunch: Leftover pasta from last night
  • Dinner: This Tasty Asparagus and Brown Rice dish, which we’ve made before, and a salad of baby greens from the Salem Saturday Market. That asparagus dish is a winner, I can’t recommend it highly enough. We used almond butter instead of tahini this time, and it was just as good. I’d imagine you could use peanut butter to the same effect.
  • Snacks: Pita chips, carrots and hummus
  • Drinks: Coffee, water, whiskey and coke
