Okay, here’s the big round up for March. It’s been a good month.

Major Cheats: 7

  • Chicken sopes and chips and salsa from Junior’s
  • Shrimp fajitas and a cheese dip
  • Spinach artichoke dip and some fried calamari and a piece of a California roll
  • Basil fried rice (had lots of egg in it)
  • Famous Dave’s. ‘Nuff said.
  • Roast beef sandwich. That one looks pretty weird on this list!
  • Apple turnover and a small piece of Marionberry coffee cake

One better than last month! I’d also classify that fried rice and the apple turnover breakfast as minor cheats, but cheats nonetheless. What’s weird is that I really thought I did worse this month, but I actually did better. Fewer cheats felt like more, so I guess I’m getting more accustomed to not having meat.

Things I Didn’t Count:

  • A tiny bite of a doughnut
  • A yogurt sauce at Venti’s
  • Fish Sauce
  • Condiments
  • Other incidentals
  • Butter in a few dishes (two fried rices we made, and probably that General Tso’s fake chicken)

I don’t even think I had a bite of Celine’s meals this month that might have contained meat. Again, I expected this to be worse. Weird.

Pounds lost: 1

Maybe. The weight loss has slowed to a crawl for now, but I’m okay with that. More important than losing weight, I’m seeing my blood pressure drop, which is a much better number to see going down.

Favorite new things we’ve made:

Favorite things I’ve had somewhere else:

  • General Tso’s “chicken” from Marco Polo
  • Kung Pao Tofu from Marco Polo
  • Basil stir fry with vegetables and a veggie egg roll from Thai Lotus
  • Portobello mushroom burger and fries from Slow Bar

Overall Impressions:

Not much has changed, it’s just getting easier to maintain this diet as I continue. I don’t think we were as adventurous in our cooking this month, but I think that’s a combination of getting some favorites in our repertoire and also not having as much time as we’d had before because of finals for Celine. On the other hand, I found some great eating out meals, and Marco Polo continues to win in that category (at least in Salem). Having choices when we go out is a very nice thing.

  • Breakfast: Granola bar and a banana
  • Lunch: A bean bowl with kale, brown rice and beans with a peanut sauce from Blossoming Lotus
  • Dinner: Roasted asparagus and brown rice, some Quorn nuggets
  • Snacks: Corn chips, pita chips and hummus, handful of cashews
  • Drinks: Coffee, water and a beer
