Really productive day today. We’ve exercised, worked in the yard all day, gone to the grocery store and made some food for the week. I know I’ve been posting mostly food for you, but I do have a couple of things for you today.

First, this is an interesting article that talks about a scientific study showing that high fructose corn syrup causes more weight gain than the same amount of regular sugar. And not by a little. Another great reason to avoid the stuff if at all possible (and sometimes, it’s really not possible to avoid it).

Second, I hope you are watching Jamie Oliver’s new show, Food Revolution! Sadly, we have not watched it yet, but I plan to remedy that tonight. If you are behind like we are, you can watch the first two episodes online at that link.

Finally, in my own personal health news, I saw a relatively normal blood pressure reading for the first time in months (maybe years). My blood pressure has consistently been in the 134/90 range, although I’ve seen it higher, like 145/98. That’s not good obviously, especially for someone my age (I’m 33). But today, after almost three months of eating a mostly plant based diet, my blood pressure was 119/85! Now, that bottom number is still a bit high I know, but that is a pretty dramatic improvement, especially considering how stubborn that number was in the past. I haven’t really lost any weight this month, but I’ll take that lower blood pressure over a couple of lost pounds any day.

Thursday:

  • Breakfast: Oatmeal with brown sugar, walnuts and dried cranberries
  • Lunch: Vegan garden burger and tortilla chips
  • Dinner: Baked potato with fake sour cream and a wee little bit of butter, and a salad
  • Snacks: Don’t remember
  • Drinks: Coffee, water, beer

Friday:

  • Breakfast: Granola bar
  • Lunch: Roast beef sandwich and some wheat berry salad that a co-worker made
  • Dinner: General Tso’s “chicken” from Marco Polo. This wasn’t real chicken, it was a soy meat substitute. I’d never say a meat substitute tasted like the meat it was impersonating, but this stuff was really good. Better than tofu or any other fake meat I’ve had.
  • Snacks: Chips and hummus
  • Drinks: Water, coffee, and 3 beers

Saturday:

  • Breakfast: Oatmeal with walnuts, brown sugar and dried cranberries, and a vegan cookie
  • Lunch: Vegan garden burger and a salad and some chips and salsa
  • Dinner: Veggie stir fry similar to the one we did the other night
  • Snacks: Pita chips and hummus
  • Drinks: Coffee, water, gin fizz
