Good week of eating, despite the various cheats, both large and small. The Brussels sprouts recipe from yesterday is a keeper for sure. Who knew that Brussels sprouts could be so delicious and versatile? Just don’t boil them to death, and they are amazing.

Lots of basketball this weekend, even though my Heels are only in the NIT (but they are playing well! Quite a change from the rest of the season). Kansas killed my bracket yesterday, so now I’m just rooting for underdogs and ACC teams, minus Duke of course.

As for Thursday’s huge BBQ cheat, I will say that Famous Dave’s is sadly the best barbeque we can find in Oregon, at least so far. Not that it’s bad (it’s actually really good), but it’s not the stuff we’re used to.

Thursday:

  • Breakfast: Granola bar, banana
  • Lunch: Vegan burrito
  • Dinner: Famous Dave’s! Celine finished her semester, so we celebrated with BBQ. I had a pork sandwich with green beans on the side, and shared some BBQ nachos. Delicious!
  • Snacks: Don’t remember, but I’m betting on some chips at the office, maybe some nuts. The usual.
  • Drinks: Water, coffee, margarita at dinner

Friday:

  • Breakfast: Granola bar and banana
  • Lunch: Basil fried rice with vegetables at a local Thai place. This had egg in it, and while I tried to pick around it, I eventually gave up and just ate.
  • Dinner: Two bean burritos, no cheese from Taco Bell
  • Snacks: We went out after work to a bar to watch basketball, and I did indeed cheat a bit. I had some spinach artichoke dip, and some fried calamari, but not terribly much of either. I also had one piece of a California roll.
  • Drinks: Water, coffee, beer

Saturday:

  • Breakfast: I don’t think I had breakfast?
  • Lunch: Veggie burger with pita and hummus on the side
  • Dinner: Brussels sprouts in coconut milk over brown rice, homemade sweet potato fries with a homemade dipping sauce made of thai chili sauce and vegan sour cream. This was all super awesome. The Brussels sprouts recipe is from Mark Bittman, the sweet potato recipe is from Celine’s head.
  • Snacks: We had chips with salsa and refried bean dip while we watched basketball
  • Drinks: Water, coffee, beer
