Friday was a cheat day, but it was worth it because we finally found a decent Mexican restaurant in Salem. It’s is called Junior’s (that means “tiny restaurant” in Spanish). They had sopes! These are my favorite Mexican food, a tiny plate of fried masa topped with refried beans, a meat of some sort and some lettuce and sauces. We’ve seen them once or twice out here, but they weren’t good. The ones last night were. Here I am, enjoying my sope:

It didn’t match the taco cart I loved so much in Nashville, but it was pretty damn good. Well worth a cheat, if you ask me.

I keep talking about my new phone, and I know I should post something more in depth about it, but the phone itself is my excuse. I’m having so much fun playing with it that I don’t have time for stuff like blogging! I got the Motorola Droid, and it’s as awesome as they say it is. I’ve spent the last 2 days downloading a ton of apps. They range from the useful (a Google Voice interface) to the awesome (Mitch Hedberg quotes) to the dumb (the lightsaber app). The coolest thing about this phone is the voice recognition search function, which actually works. You can even use it for navigation. So I can speak an address into my phone, and it will give me directions on how to get there. Magic!

Anyway, it’s my first smartphone, and I really love it so far. I don’t know how it compares to others, but I don’t think I could handle much more awesomeness from a phone. Highly recommended.

Friday:

  • Breakfast: Granola bar
  • Lunch: Veggie pasta
  • Dinner: Chicken sopes and chips and salsa from Junior’s
  • Snack: Pita chips and hummus
  • Drinks: Water, coffee, a Jarritos, beer

Saturday:

  • Breakfast: Steel cut oats with brown sugar, dried cranberries and walnuts
  • Lunch: Peanut butter and jelly sandwich
  • Dinner: Senagalese Peanut soup with rice and some bread
  • Snacks: Pita and hummus, rice chips
  • Drinks: Coffee, water, beer
