Well, another month is gone, and I’m still holding to this new way of eating. Last month, I did  a little summary post, and I figured it would be a good thing to do again. So, here we go.

Major Cheats: 8

  • Grilled wings from KFC for the Super Bowl (big mistake)
  • Trip to Red Robin (vegetarian, but not vegan)
  • This meal: Bridgewater Bistro. I had the Coquilles St. Jacques, which was basically scallops in a cream sauce with mushrooms and bread crumbs. I also had a three raw oyster appetizer and a Caesar salad. And some buttered bread. And a few french fries with a creamy sauce. And a few bites of Celine’s meal with grilled chicken. And some sort of dessert that Celine ordered with chocolate and strawberries.
  • A breakfast quiche and a salad from the Blue Scorcher Bakery in Astoria
  • Seared oysters, french fries and a few raw veggies at Fort George Brewery in Astoria
  • Seafood linguine and a cup of lobster bisque at The Pacific House in Tillamook
  • A vegetarian savory pie with vegetarian chili from the Pacific Pie Company. This was vegetarian, but definitely not vegan, as evidenced by the buttery pastry and the cheese on the inside.
  • A piece of Blizzard ice cream cake from Dairy Queen with Heath Bar topping

That’s 20% less cheats than last month, for those of you keeping score. Not to get too technical, but I’d also like to say something about the quality of the cheats as well. Last month I had steak twice, poutine twice, fried fish, a hamburger and a wide variety of meats at a Pok Pok dinner. This month, I had no red meat, no pork and chicken only once. Half of my eight cheats were vegetarian, just not vegan, and half of the eight all came in the same weekend (three on one day). So, to sum up, mostly seafood and vegetarian (but not vegan) cheats, mostly all in one weekend, plus birthday cake.

Things I Didn’t Count:

  • That Trader Joe’s Indian thing that had ghee in it
  • Fish Sauce
  • Condiments
  • Other incidentals
  • Meals that had non-vegan parts that I avoided (cheese on the beans at the Mexican place, for instance)
  • The few times I tried a bite of something Celine was eating that probably had meat in it

Nothing different here really, except that I found some truly vegan granola bars, so that was cool. I also think I had less things with fish sauce this month too.

Pounds lost: 3

This is approximate. I started at 179 before I began this switch, and after January I was at 173. I sorta plateaued there for two or three weeks, and since then I’ve bounced between 169 and 172. Mostly around 170, so I’m calling it three. Less than last month, which is fine but not as exciting. However, I keep reminding myself that I’m not actually dieting, so any weight loss is pretty amazing. If I lose 2 or 3 pound  per month for a while, I’ll be in the best shape of my adult life in a few months.

Favorite new things we’ve made:

Favorite things I’ve had somewhere else:

  • Vegetarian fajitas
  • Super Tuscan sandwich from J&M Cafe
  • Yellow curry at Marco Polo
  • Basic Bowl from Blossoming Lotus

Overall Impressions:

I’m still loving this diet, and it’s certainly getting easier as I go. We didn’t cook as many new awesome things at home this month, but it’s really nice to be finding some good options outside of the house as well. Marco Polo is going to be a new favorite for sure. I continue to feel good, and I’m actually more active than I have been in the past, another nice bonus. Goals for March are to continue along this path, cut more cheats out of the system and find some more great things to eat.

  • Breakfast: Oatmeal with brown sugar, walnuts and dried cranberries
  • Lunch: Peanut butter and banana sandwich, pita chips and carrots with jalapeno hummus (weird combo, I know)
  • Dinner: Basil Stir Fry from a local Thai restaurant
  • Drinks: Water, coffee
