So, I might have made the greatest hummus in the world today.

This all started at work this week. Someone purchased some jalapeno hummus, and we’ve been snacking on it while we work. It’s really good, and I kept thinking, “I could totally make this at home.” So, I started looking around online for recipes and gave it a try.

I started with this recipe, but I ended up changing the proportions quite a bit because a) this recipe doesn’t make much hummus, so I made it larger, and b) from my previous hummus making experiments, I knew I wouldn’t like some of those proportions (that’s way too much tahini, for instance). Here’s what I ended up with:

  • 2 cans garbanzo beans
  • 1/2 of a 12 ounce can jalapeno pepper slices and half the juice as well
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons tahini
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 4 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon curry powder

Put it all in a food processor and mix it up until it’s smooth. I left out the red pepper flakes and I added the other spices at the end to taste, but I can’t imagine it really matters. Just blend it up.

This didn’t taste like the hummus at work. It was way better! The canned jalapenos are the key I think, the juice brings that vinegary flavor along with the heat, and it’s a nice balance. It’s almost more tangy than spicy actually. I’d recommend just using the above ingredients and mixing them to your tastes, but I strongly encourage you to give this a try. You’ll never buy hummus in the store again.

The rest of my day consisted of going to the grocery store, mowing our yard (in February! not cool, Oregon), and playing Marvel Ultimate Alliance 2 on my Playstation. All in all, a productive day.

  • Breakfast: Steel cut oats with brown sugar and pecans
  • Lunch: Vegan pizza
  • Dinner: Vegan pizza (the last of it)
  • Snacks: Jalapeno hummus with carrots and homemade pita chips, that vegan cookie from Marco Polo
  • Drinks: Coffee, water, a beer with lunch
