Last night, we decided to try a new place for us here in Salem called Marco Polo. Now, we’ve heard people talk about this place, but I wasn’t terribly into checking it out for one simple reason: their menu is too large. Generally, I think that if restaurants have really large menus, that probably means they don’t make any of their food very well. Marco Polo not only has many dishes, but many types of food (Asian, European, American, Indian…it’s crazy). Because of this, I didn’t have high hopes.

It turns out I couldn’t have been more wrong. This was one of the best meals we’ve had in Salem, and it was easily the best vegan meal I’ve eaten out since I’ve started this diet. They have a full vegetarian menu (that doesn’t work on their site, unfortunately), and the vegan items are clearly marked. Our waitress, possibly the owner, realized immediately that I was ordering vegan and made some suggestions throughout the meal for me. Through the course of conversation, we told her it was our first time eating there, and at the end of the meal, she brought us each a vegan cookie to go to say thanks for trying them out. We tried them and they were so good we ate them before we even paid for the meal. She came back by and asked how they were, to which I replied, “We were going to take them home with us, but they were too good!” Two minutes later, she was back with two more cookies for us to take home.

Needless to say, we’ll be going back. The food was amazing, the service was great, and that sort of customer care is not something you see very often. Since taking a job in customer service where we try to be that amazing to all of our clients, I appreciate it all the more now when I see it. And this place is proof positive that vegan meals can be delicious in a restaurant setting. Two thumbs up!

Friday:

  • Breakfast: Granola bar
  • Lunch: Beans and rice (man, I’m getting tired of beans and rice this week)
  • Dinner: Marco Polo. We had samosas as an appetizer and I had a vegan yellow curry with lots of different veggies (broccoli, cauliflower, peppers, onions, mushroom, etc). We also got a vegan cookie for dessert!
  • Snacks: Blue corn chips and jalapeno hummus, apple
  • Drinks: Coffee, water, beer at dinner

Saturday:

  • Breakfast: Granola bar
  • Lunch: Leftover yellow curry dish and some extra brown rice
  • Dinner: Vegan pizza from Garlic Jim’s
  • Snacks: Veggies, pita chips and hummus
  • Drinks: Coffee, water, beer
