New format tonight! Food goes at the bottom from now on, as long as I have anything interesting to say. That seems to make more sense to me.

Tonight we tried another Veganomicon recipe called Chickpea Noodle Soup, with mixed results. I thought it was pretty good, but nothing terribly special. Celine didn’t really like it much at all. Overall, it was a pretty inoffensive soup, and the noodles made it a comfort food of sorts. I might make it again, but I won’t be rushing to do so.

Tomorrow, we are taking a tiny vacation to Astoria. We’re staying at the Commodore up there, which looks like a pretty cool little hotel. For those of you that don’t know, Astoria is a fairly popular place to film movies, including Short Circuit and Kindergarten Cop. But of course, the most greatest movie ever filmed there was The Goonies.

There is no way that I could possibly express how important The Goonies was to my childhood. My dad can attest to the fact that I probably watched this movie 500 times when I was a kid, often multiple times in the same day. I could pretty much recite it by heart at the time, and I could probably still do it today. I cannot wait to see the Goondocks. As you can probably imagine, there will be photographic evidence. From the research we’ve done (oh yeah, there’s a fan site), Mikey’s house is easily located, and they welcome picture takers. Also on the agenda: the jail where the Fratellis break out, the museum where Mikey’s dad works, the bowling alley that Chunk is at when he watches the police chase through the window, and the state park where Haystack Rock is. I actually think we’ve already been to Haystack Rock, but at the time I didn’t realize it all fit the Doubloon.

Goonies also gave us maybe the greatest music video in the history of music videos. See if you can name all the wrestlers (because I definitely could):

Anyway, we’re packing some Oregon wine for a romantic getaway to Astoria, but I’m secretly packing my Bully Blinders and Pincers of Hell. Just in case.

  • Breakfast: Oatmeal with walnuts, brown sugar and dried cranberries
  • Lunch: Leftover pasta and tomato sauce (I gave up on the bean balls)
  • Dinner: Chickpea Noodle Soup from Veganomicon
  • Snacks: Celine made some vegan peanut butter filled chocolate cookies, and holy crap they were good
  • Drinks: Coffee, water
