Sunday was a cheat day. I mean, it was the Super Bowl.

  • Breakfast/Brunch: Leftover vegan pizza from Garlic Jim’s
  • Lunch: The new grilled wings from KFC
  • Dinner: No real dinner, it was a snack day. Veggies and hummus and pita chips, three chocolate chip cookies (homemade)
  • Drinks: Water, coffee, and three beers

A few words about the wings. First of all, there is no way I’d waste a cheat day on KFC if there were any other viable wing options in Salem, Oregon. We researched the internet extensively, and there are no wing joints in this town. It’s ridiculous, and I don’t want to talk about it.

Second, the grilled wings from KFC taste pretty good! They seemed a little fatty to me, which wasn’t surprising from KFC, but they were actually quite delicious. I probably ate 10 of them, and then Celine put them in the fridge. When I went in later to get the veggies and hummus, the grease from the chicken wings had completely soaked through the KFC box and they were all falling through the bottom. I put them in a plastic bag instead, but that virtually guaranteed I will not be eating another grilled chicken wing, perhaps ever again.

Things I like from today that are not food related:

  1. The Saints beating the Colts in the Super Bowl, mainly because Peyton Manning threw a really dumb interception. I’m not a Saints fan, but I am a Colts hater, so it was a great way to end the day.
  2. Paranormal Activity, which we just watched tonight. Super creepy, not overdone until the very end, and one that you continue to think about as you try to fall asleep that night. Two thumbs up.
  3. This awesome post from Lifehacker that explains how to use Gmail keyboard shortcuts. TRY THIS NOW. It takes a few minutes to learn the basic keyboard commands, but if you use Gmail regularly like I do, this will change your life. I’ve always thought Gmail was awesome, but now I’m not sure how I used it before turning on the keyboard shortcuts. Seriously, give this a shot.
  4. The replays of all the old UNC/Duke games on ESPN Classic. Even the games that Carolina lost were awesome to see, and it was far better than watching their actual game against Maryland today.

Things I didn’t like from this weekend that are not food related:

  1. The latest Harry Potter movie, which totally blew. Not just because I read the book, which I did , and it doesn’t follow the book very well at all. Mainly because it doesn’t even hold together as a movie even if you didn’t read the book. The worst in the series by far if you ask me.
  2. My poor wife has been sick with some sort of head cold, and that’s sucked for her. We’ve laid around a lot this weekend, which is nice, but nicer when you don’t have a fever.
  3. The Who on the halftime show. Look, I love classic rock. I love great songwriting, and most of my favorite albums were released long before 1980. But the halftime show of the Super Bowl is not the place for these bands. Springsteen pulled it off, but one could argue that he’s been relevant far more recently than The Who. They are old. Even worse, they are BORING. My favorite artist of all time is Jackson Browne, but I do not want to see him on the halftime show at the Super Bowl. You know why? Because he would be boring. Can we please get over this Janet Jackson thing and get a decent act for the halftime show next year? I am fully prepared to be offended by another nipple. Just make it interesting.

That’s all I’ve got.

