• Breakfast: A banana, and then some cauliflower mid-morning. Weird breakfast, I know.
  • Lunch: Peanut butter and jelly sandwich, some veggies, pita chips and hummus
  • Dinner: Brown rice, brussels sprouts with a almond butter sauce and chickpea cutlets from the Veganomicon cookbook. We put almond butter sauce on that as well.
  • Snacks: hummus and veggies and pita chips
  • Drinks: Water and coffee

That’s two vegan days in a row. Lots of good food today too. I didn’t love the chickpea cutlets, I just thought they were a little bland. However, Celine liked them quite a bit so we may make them again the future. But in general, I’m just against the idea of fake meat. I don’t know if chickpea cutlets really qualify since they don’t have a stupid fake meat name (tofurkey, for instance), but at this point, I’d usually rather just eat a vegetable or a piece of tofu. I don’t see any reason to try and make something that’s not chicken look like chicken, and I certainly see no reason to try to make it taste like chicken. It’s always a complete failure anyway, so why not just call it what it is?

At least these things were called chickpeas so we knew what we were getting. They just needed more seasoning and I think they’d be fine.

