• Breakfast: Steel cut oats with dried cranberries, brown sugar and walnuts
  • Lunch: A dish called Indo Udon and some edamame at Soba. The Udon had veggies, fried tofu and noodles in a “spicy sauce”
  • Dinner: A huge salad and hummus with pita chips and fresh veggies (carrot, celery, cauliflower)
  • Drink: Water, coffee, wine

I also had one bite of Celine’s chicken teryiaki, which was delicious and my only non-vegan item of the day. But my menu for the day is not the big news. The big news is:

THE STONE HAS LEFT BUILDING

Yep, last night I finally passed my kidney stone. I’ll spare you any and all disgusting details, but I will tell you these two things:

  1. Actually passing the stone was not painful at all. In fact, I was surprised to see it, I felt no pain.
  2. It is truly astounding that something that small could cause so much agony.

Seriously, it’s tiny. The doctor said it was 3mm, and while it looks a little larger than that (5mm by my measurement, but it depends on which dimension you measure, I guess), we are talking millimeters here. Less than half a centimeter, and it was easily the most painful thing I’ve ever felt in my life.

Good riddance to bad rubbish, that’s what I say. This kidney stone will not be missed, and I can’t wait to hand it over to my doctor (they analyze them, apparently). It’s good to feel like this ordeal is done.

Nothing much else to report from Oregon. Hope you’re all doing well.

