• Breakfast: Oatmeal with brown sugar, dried cranberries and walnuts
  • Lunch: Vegan burrito from Taco Del Mar
  • Dinner: The Laurelhurst. As you can see, it’s a steak place, and I had a monster NY Strip steak along with a wedge salad (covered in bleu cheese dressing). There was nothing vegan about this meal. Also had a slice of lemon meringue pie.
  • Snacks: Some nuts, pita chips from a bag
  • Drinks: Water, coffee, beer, wine

Two things about this decidedly un-vegan dinner. First, this was one of the best steaks I’ve ever had. In fact, I’d put it in the top 10 steak experiences of my life, and maybe the top 5. Well cooked, well presented, and in a great atmosphere. Two enthusiastic thumbs way up.

Second, after eating this amazing meal, I felt noticeably worse than I have after a meal in weeks. I felt lethargic and overly full, and I had indigestion for the rest of the night. As a result, I didn’t sleep very well, and I’m still a little groggy this morning. What’s crazy is that I used to regularly feel like this, but I really haven’t at all in the last 2 or 3 weeks. It’s amazing what a little perspective can do for you.

I want to be clear that this isn’t an indictment of the steak I had, because it was pretty close to perfect. It’s more about how I feel after eating a meat heavy meal, even a nearly perfect meat heavy meal. Ironically, this delicious meaty meal only convinced me further that I shouldn’t eat it very often.

