• Breakfast: Steel-cut oats with banana and walnuts and brown sugar
  • Lunch: Hummus with carrots and toasted pita chips
  • Dinner: We went to Burgerville! They are currently featuring a Portobello mushroom sandwich (no mayo and no cheese), made with local mushrooms. I had that and fried portobellos instead of fries. All delicious, and vegan except for the garlic aioli I had on the fries, but I only had a little of that. I’d also wager the focaccia bread had something in it I shouldn’t eat, but meh.
  • Snacks: We went to the movies, so I had popcorn and a coffee there.
  • Drinks: Water, coffee and a glass of wine

So as of today, I’ve been on this diet for two weeks officially, with only Nostrana standing between me and no meat at all. Two weeks probably isn’t all that long to be on a new diet, but I figured I’d weigh in on the positives and negatives at this point.

So far, there are a lot of positives. I told Celine this morning that just in the last two days, I really feel better. It’s nothing terribly specific, I just feel like I have more energy and I feel lighter, if that makes sense. In fact, I am a little lighter (between 3 and 5 pounds, depending on whether you count “holiday weight”). For most of the past two weeks, I’ve really felt the same, and it could be just a coincidence since it’s only been two days, but I have started to feel different. I’ve also noticed that even when I eat a lot of food, I don’t feel so grossly full like I did when I ate a meat-heavy meal. I still feel completely full, but I don’t feel like I can’t get up from my chair or like I need to sleep for a few hours to get past my miserableness. I’m just full, and that’s it. Honestly, it’s weird to even find out that you can be full without being miserably full. I wouldn’t have believed it if you’d told me that was possible.

As for negatives, I think those are pretty obvious. I miss cheese and sour cream on burritos, and I miss half and half in my coffee. I really don’t miss meat often, unless in specific circumstances. For instance, at Burgerville tonight, I kinda wanted a cheeseburger because that’s what they are known for. And I know when we go back to Tennessee I’m going to want some barbeque and fried chicken. It’s also more difficult to eat out, but that’s a blessing and a curse. On the plus side there, it saves me money and when I do go out, it forces me to order something different than I normally would. On the negative side, there are some restaurants that are pretty much off my list now (Outback, I will miss you). That’s not to say I won’t continue to indulge now and again, but for the most part I try not to put places like that in my list of options.

Overall, I think the positives far outweigh the negatives, and I think the impact of those negatives will decrease over time. I definitely don’t feel like the food I’m eating is less flavorful or less filling. In many cases, the opposite is true. It’s all just different for me, which so far has been part of the charm of all of this. We’ve certainly tried many new things, and that’s always a good thing.

