• Breakfast: We went to The Original Pancake House, and I had a vegetarian omelette. It was probably about 5 eggs and way too much cheese, so I didn’t eat much of it. I also had a small amount of hashbrowns and some coffee.
  • Dinner: Asparagus and Lemongrass Risotto, a recipe from the Veganomicon cookbook
  • Snacks: Dried pineapple

I skipped lunch today because I had a late breakfast, so it was sort of a light eating day. That breakfast was pretty heavy too, so I’m not too worried about it.

So, after a week on this better diet, what are my thoughts? I’m so glad you asked. I think that of all the meals you can eat out, breakfast is the hardest one to do vegan. Pancakes are out because of the milk in them, eggs are out, breakfast meats are out…you’re basically left with oatmeal or cereals, and I hate buying something like that in a restaurant because I can make that myself at home. However, lunch and dinner are easier, especially in Portland, and especially if you’re not an overly strict vegan. Most asian cuisines have a lot of vegetarian/vegan options, and other places here usually make sure to provide at least one vegetarian choice and sometimes quite a few. It’s usually easy to make these vegan (hold the cheese, sour cream, etc.), but even if not, it’s not a big deal since I’m not really sweating the small stuff here.

I do feel good on this diet, but I can’t really say if I feel better than before. I do know that even when I eat a lot of food, I don’t feel miserably full and disgusting like I did when eating meat. I’ve lost a minimal amount of weight, but nothing to get excited about. However, it’s only been a week, so I’m sure the changes will be more apparent as I continue.

I really don’t miss meat per say, but I do miss cheese and butter and sour cream and all of the delicious things they bring us. I don’t miss milk either, but I never really liked milk. I do miss half and half in my coffee in the morning, but rice milk has proven to be a decent substitute. As for meat, yesterday I had a bite of Celine’s hot dog, but I almost couldn’t do it. Not because the meat grossed me out or anything, just because it felt like a major violation of what I was doing. It was a delicious hot dog, but I definitely didn’t want more than a bite, and that’s a change for me.

Anyway, so far so good. I’ll keep chronicling what I’m eating, mainly for my own records. I’ll try to add a little more interesting content too though, I’m sure that reading my meal plans isn’t terribly exciting!

