Miles traveled today: 489
Miles traveled in total: 936
Miles to go: 1,655
States visited: 7, maybe (Tennessee, Kentucky, Illinois, Missouri, Iowa, South Dakota, and maybe Nebraska)

I say maybe about Nebraska because I’m not certain we ever actually crossed into Nebraska from Iowa. We traveled straight up 29, and we went “through” Omaha, but I never saw a sign for Nebraska. But we saw it, so it counts, right?

Well, today we made it to Sioux Falls, South Dakota, and we’re currently holed up in a Best Western with two slightly less grumpy cats. I think they are getting used to the traveling, at least they seemed a bit calmer today. It was a pretty uneventful day, so I’ll give you some pictures to sum everything up.

Funny road signs seen: Too many to count, but here are a couple that we thought were interesting:

Even on the road, work follows me.

Even on the road, work follows me.

Some sort of cruel joke.

Some sort of cruel joke.

Weird.

Weird.

This part of the country is very scenic, but it’s really only one scene. Here it is:

This is really pretty for at least an hour.

This is really pretty for at least an hour.

I don’t mean to sound ungrateful, but I will be very happy when we aren’t seeing corn anymore. It really is beautiful country, but there is no variation.

Tomorrow, we hit the Badlands! We are driving to Rapid City, SD early, dropping off the cats, and coming back to the Badlands to check it out at night. Also on the agenda: Wall Drug. I will leave you with a picture from one of our rest stops:

P1020802

That’s a cat on a leash, people. It happens.

