Miles traveled today: 452
Miles to go: 2,128
States visited: 4 – Tennessee, Kentucky, Illinois, and Missouri

You remember how we said we were going to pull out at 5AM on Thursday morning? That plan was a bit optimistic. After the marathon day that Wednesday became, we decided to leave a little later so that we could get some actual sleep. Our new plan was to say our tearful goodbyes to Phillip and Erica, then saying them to Celine’s dad and stepmom, and then pulling out of Nashville around 9.

Well, nothing goes according to plan. We gave our cats half a Benedryl each as prescribed by the vet and threw them in their carriers and loaded the car. As soon as we were in the car, Tortellini threw up. We figured it was a little motion sickness/nerves, and hoped she’d be okay. But before we even got to Phillip’s house, she had thrown up multiple times and sort of having fits. It was a scary scene, so we took her to the vet immediately. On the plus side, she did get to ride in Celine’s lap as opposed to in the carrier:

I hope you like barf on your camera.

I hope you like barf on your camera.

The vet saw her and checked her out, and said she was perfectly fine health-wise, she was just overly stressed (and probably a little car sick). He gave her a heavier tranquilizer which gave her crazy eye for most of the day. However, it also calmed her down and helped with the nausea, so she was fine for the rest of the trip, and we have pills for her and Mr. Lawrence now (although Big L pretty much fought through all attempts at sedation).

After all of that craziness, we did finally get on the road, but it was almost 11 when we did. We drove for about 9 hours and ended up in Columbia, MO at a La Quinta Inn. I am a fan of the Quinta. Comfy beds, free wifi, free breakfast, and pet friendly. Thumbs up.

Anyway, here was Celine’s view for most of the day:

truck

I drove that big-ass truck. It actually wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be, but it was exhausting. You just have to pay much more attention at all times. The only truly scary part was crossing a bridge in downtown St. Louis where the lanes just seemed too narrow for that trailer. But Celine ran interference for me in the lane next door, and it all went swimmingly. Speaking of bridges:

bridge

I don’t think this is THE bridge, but it’s a nice one! Other than that, we mostly saw farmland today:

Farms to the left of me, farms to the right of me.

Farms to the left of me, farms to the right of me.

It’s truly a beautiful country we live in, and I’m glad we’re going to see so much of it.

Tomorrow it’s off to Sioux Falls, South Dakota! At the end of today, after driving that truck, I felt I’d truly earned this shirt:

I'm shaving in the morning, I promise.

I'm shaving in the morning, I promise.

