My recent obsession with the Old Fashioned has fueled my desire to become a good home bartender. I’m probably a long way from having everything I need to do this (firstly, a bar), but it’s never to early to start learning about the trade. Celine found this article on the Atlantic’s website:

What Makes a Great Bartender?

It’s a good start, even if all you take away from it is a great measuring cup for liquor. It’s on my Amazon wishlist now, feel free to buy it for me! Or maybe I’ll just splurge and spend the six bucks. Of course, it doesn’t stop there. Here’s a great rundown of all of the essential bartending tools you need to start a home bar:

Essential Bar Tools

Now, I have some of this stuff, but not all of it, and it’s probably best to have tools exclusively for your bar (instead of using my wife’s pairing knives all the time). And then there’s the liquor itself. I’m mainly a whiskey man myself, but other liquors are far less familiar to me, so I’d really have to do some research to find my favorites. Tough job, right? I think I’m up to it.

And let’s not forget the final piece of this puzzle either: glasses. I like that list because it includes “punch bowl” as a glass. Reminds me of college. I’m a fan of the Old Fashioned glass, but I think the first four on that page are essential for cocktail mixing. Wine and beer glasses of all types are good too, and let’s not forget the shot glass, just in case you have a sorority party in your basement or something.

That’s a lot of stuff to buy, which means this meets all of the requirements of a hobby:

  1. Takes a lot of time
  2. Costs a lot of money
  3. Serves no purpose other than pleasure

Sign me up.

